Connected to UBC


The UBC Terry Project

University Courses

AMBL is the science literacy and education unit stationed within the Michael Smith Laboratories. This is a high profile interdisciplinary unit, first conceived in 1987, under the visionary leadership of Dr. Michael Smith. The Michael Smith Laboratories is governed internally by a Director (Dr. James Kronstad) that reports to the VP Academic, and who coordinates the inter-departmental activities of the MSL through an advisory committee of six Deans. There are approximately 250 research personnel in the Laboratory, with research activities falling into four major areas of emphasis: medical and animal molecular genetics; statistics, genomics and experimental evolution; bioengineering and bioanalytical/process technologies; and plant and forestry molecular genetics. There is a strong emphasis on interdisciplinary interaction and overlap of interest among the different groups. Awards from prestigious national and international organizations are continually recognizing the faculty members for their excellence. In 1993, Dr. Michael Smith received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

The MSL itself is placed within the Vancouver Campus of the University of British Columbia. UBC, established in 1908, educates a student population of 50,000 on major campuses in two cities and holds an international reputation for excellence in advanced research and learning. The largest is 30 minutes from the heart of downtown Vancouver, a spectacular campus that is a ‘must-see’ for any visitor to the city — where snow-capped mountains meet ocean and breathtaking vistas greet you around every corner.

Both Joanne and Dave are tenured Faculty within the UBC system, and have teaching commitments as well as a variety of projects that connect directly with the UBC community. Most noteworthy are the various elements of the Terry Project, as well as Joanne’s administrative leadership in the First Year Science Seminar and Vantage College programs.

UBC Collaborators – Past and Current:

Faculty of Science. Departments of Microbiology and Immunology, Botany, Zoology, Biochemistry. Life Science Institute, Biomedical Research Centre, ICord, Beaty Biodiversity Museum, UBC iGEM, SCIE113, Genomics Entrepreneurship@UBC

Faculty of Medicine. Departments of Experimental Medicine, Pathology, UBC UAEM

Faculty of Arts. Departments of Political Science, Visual Arts, Creative Writing, School of Music, Anthropology, English. School of Journalism.

Faculty of Lands and Food Systems. Wine Research Centre, Soil, Water and Sustainability Group, UBC Farm

Gel nails first appeared in the U.S. in the early 1980s, Nail care
but were met with limited success. At the time, Nail gel polish
the manufacturers of gel lights and the gel itself had not joined forces, gel nail polish color set
not yet recognizing the need to precisely match the intensity of the light to the photoinitiators in the gel.Best gel nail polish
Nail techs and clients soon found out that ­using the wrong light or applying too much gel caused a burning sensation on the client’s nail gel
Additionally, education on gel application was limited, leaving nail techs in the dark about the product, and home-use ­systems were introduced around the same time, damaging the reputation of salon-use systems by ­association.Nail care
Nail gel

Faculty of Education. Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy

Center for Teaching, Learning and Technology, VP Students, VP Academics, UBC Bookstore, UBC Public Affairs, Alma Mater Society, CiTR, UBC Farm, UBC Engineers without Borders, UBC Sustainability, IRES, Vantage College.